Week 3

First I wanted to start out by talking about another one of my favorite photographers because he was mentioned in our lecture this past week: Jerry Uelsmann. I think his work is brilliant and imaginative. I remember learning about him in my photography class in high school; we also had to mimic his hand pictures in one of our assignments. As for my 24 hour shoot, I discovered there were a lot of pictures at my work that I never really noticed before I had to take pictures of them (these are the photos of celebrities holding up Recycle signs-I work at Name Brand Exchange, which is a clothing resale store). I also took pictures of some advertisements and photos in my house and my boyfriend’s parent’s house as well. I discovered that it was hard to catch a very good angle on the pictures that were mounted high on the wall. I also found out that some images came out funny because of the glare on the reflection of the photos, so I tried not to use flash. As I learned in class, the ways in which we use cameras has changed enormously over the years. For instance, the Doguerrotype wasn’t reproducable-the first reproducable photo was taken by William Talbot as a negative. Photography involved intensive labor, required intensive equipment, was expensive and constrained. This is why mostly men used photography, rather than women. I think the most significant difference between film and digital is the reproducability and power of the image. I have never personally shot with film, or if I did I think I was too young to really understand. I researched under the link for Photomuse and found a couple similarities to this week’s class lecture. This includes that of Louis Daguerre’s Doguerrotype and his partnership with Joseph Niepce. I also found EJ Bellocq, who photographed prostitutes in New Orleans. I found a lot of differences though including: Anna Atkins and her cyanotypes, Charles Marville and his photographs of architectural monuments, Timothy O’Sullivan and his photographs of the Central Pacific Runway, and Eadweard Muybridge and his photography of horses while in motion.

Leave a Reply

