Week 8

1. I think everything is working out well with this class right now, in general. I really liked the mid term meeting and being able to have one on one time with my professor because it helped me to understand what I am doing well in and what I need to work on. It also helped me to pull out of my shell and finally get to working on photography with my new camera!

2. I think I’d like to create a story or experience for my final project, although I’m not sure what kind of story yet. I think I want it to be dark and complex, with a lot of nature shots and varying perspectives (close up macros, far away, obscure shots). I’m not sure yet what I will do, but this is what I have in mind so far.

3. I chose these three images below in order by photographer: Sarah Schloo, Rosie Hardy, and Steve Skafte. I looked up my favorite photographer Rosie Hardy on Flickr and found a new photo she had just taken called “Head Caught in a Waking Dream” and then decided to look up some of her favorite photos and found these two photographers whose work I greatly appreciated. I’d like to be able to take photos as skillfully crafted as these and create a story with them. The first photo by Sarah Schloo is beautiful in composition with the perspective of the clouds and lavender field, and the way the scarf looks like windblown smoke. I also love the depth Rosie Hardy uses with the leaves in her photo. The third photo with the hand has an interesting perspective as well and the darkness at the bottom of the photo leads your eyes up to the top with the light softly playing on the fingertips kind of making the hand seem powerful or magical in a way. I’d like to incorporate some kind of story like one of these images below into my final project.

 

Leave a Reply

